December 22, 2017

How To Deactivate Instagram Temporarily Or Permanently

SHARE
Deactivate Instagram

How to deactivate Instagram temporarily or delete it permanently will be vividly discuss here. Also, learn how to create Instagram account, be aware of terms attracted to deactivation of Instagram account.

When you deactivate Instagram account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be removed. But before then you must be aware that you can temporarily disable your Instagram account or permanently deactivate or delete your Instagram account.

Instagram was launched in October 2010 as a free mobile app exclusively for the iOS operating system. And on April 3, 2012, Instagram was released for Android phones, while Instagram app for Windows phone was released as a beta version on November 21, 2013 and upgraded in April 2016 to Windows 10 Mobile, adding support for video and direct messages, followed by later updates in October 2016 that extended the app to Windows 10 personal computers and tablets.

Instagram is a mobile, desktop, and Internet-based photo-sharing application and service that allows users to share pictures and videos either publicly, or privately to pre-approved followers.

Before we delve into how to deactivate Instagram account. Firstly, let's see to how to create an Instagram account.

Create Instagram account

Instagram is a simple way to capture and share the world’s moments. Follow your friends and family to see what they’re up to, and discover accounts from all over the world that are sharing things you love.

Create an Instagram account to join the community of over 500 million people and express yourself by sharing all the moments of your day––the highlights and everything in between, too.

You can create an Instagram account from the mobile app and of course through the web directly.

How to create Instagram account from the app

To create Instagram account from the app:

  1. Download the Instagram app for your device from the App Store, Google Play Store or Windows Phone Store regarding your phone operating system or click here to get all for your mobile.
  2. Make sure the all is successfully installed on your phone. Open the Instagram application once the app is installed.
  3. Tap Sign Up With Email or Phone Number, then enter your email address or phone number (which will require a confirmation code) and tap Next. You can also tap Log in with Facebook to sign up with your Facebook account.
  4. If you register with your email or phone number, create a username and password, fill out your profile info and then tap Done. If you register with Facebook, you'll be prompted to log into your Facebook account if you're currently logged out.

How to create Instagram account directly from web

To create an Instagram account directly online:

  1. Open a your preferred browser and enter instagram.com.
  2. Enter your email address, create a usernameand password or click Log in with Facebook to sign up with your Facebook account.
  3. If you register with an email, click Sign up. If you register with Facebook, you'll be prompted to log into your Facebook account if you're currently logged out.

Deactivate Instagram

There may come the period for you to deactivate your Instagram account for the reason best known to you.

Whoops! When this time comes then you may opt in to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily, that is you will be disabling the publishing of account for some time.

How to deactivate Instagram account temporarily

If you temporarily deactivate your Instagram account, your profile, photos, comments and likes will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in.

Now, to temporarily deactivate your account:

  1. Log into instagram.com from a mobile browser or computer. You can't temporarily disable your account from within the Instagram app.
  2. Tap or click Profile avatar icon in the top right and then select Edit Profile.
  3. Scroll down, then tap or click Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right.
  4. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account? and re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu.
  5. Tap or click Temporarily Disable Account.

However, you’ll need to be able to log into your account to temporarily disable it. If you can't remember your password or username, click on forget password link very close to login button.

There is even a better option to disabling Instagram account. If you don't want to disable your account but want to change who can see it, you can set your posts to private or block people.

Furthermore, if you still wish to delete your Instagram account at all cost. You have probably made up your mind to fully deactivate Instagram account permanently. Then continue reading.

How to deactivate Instagram account permanently

When you delete your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. 

After you delete your account, you can't sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account, and we can't reactivate deleted accounts.

To permanently deactivate or delete your instagram account:

  1. Go to the Delete Your Account page. If you're not logged into Instagram on the web, you'll be asked to log in first. You can't delete your account from within the Instagram app.
  2. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deleting your account? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu.
  3. Click or tap Permanently delete my account.

With the above steps correctly observed, you are able to deactivate Instagram account permanently.

Note: When you deactivate your Instagram account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. 

Also, after successful deactivation of your Instagram account, you can't sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account, and Instagram can't reactivate deleted accounts.

SHARE