Nigerian Presidents from 1960 till Date

Full list of Nigerian Presidents and head of states till date.

The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is the head of state and head of the national executive of Nigeria. The President of Nigeria is also the commander-in-chief of the Nigerian Armed Forces. The President is elected in national elections which take place every four years.

However, let's now list the names of Nigerian Presidents chronologically from the first Republic to present.

Presidents In First Republic

Sir James RobertsonGovernor General of Nigeria 1955-1960
Sir Nnamdi AzikiweCeremonial President of Nigeria 1960-1966
Alhaji Abubakar Tafawa BalewaFirst and only Prime Minister of Nigeria1957-1966
General Aguiyi Ironsi  President of NigeriaJan - July 1966
General Yakubu GowonPresident of Nigeria1966-1975
General Murtala Ramat MohammedPresident of Nigeria1975-1976
General Olusegun ObasanjoPresident of Nigeria1976-1979

Presidents In Second Republic

Alhaji Shehu Aliyu ShagariPresident Of Nigeria1979-1983
Major General Muhammadu BuhariMilitary Head Of State1983-1985
General Ibrahim Badamasi BabangidaMilitary Head Of State1985-1993

Presidents In Third Republic

Chief Earnest ShonekonPresident Of Nigeria26th Aug,1993–17th Nov,1993
General Sani AbachaMilitary Head Of State1993–1998
General Abdusalami AbubakarMilitary Head Of State1998–1999

Presidents In Fourth Republic

General Olusegun Okekiola Aremu ObasanjoPresident Of Nigeria1999–2007
Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’aduaPresident Of Nigeria2007–2010
Goodluck Ebele Azikiwe JonathanPresident Of Nigeria2010–2015
Muhammad BuhariPresident Of Nigeria2015–201?

Share and Broadcast Article

Disqus Comments