List of Political Parties in Nigeria

List of Political Parties in Nigeria

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) is the main agent of democracy in Nigeria. INEC is the permanent body created by the constitution to organise Federal and State elections in Nigeria.

In the last elections, 63 political parties participated and were expected to win at least one seat in the National Assembly or State Houses of Assembly or risk deregistration. Results of the elections showed that only 10 parties fulfilled the requirement. They include the People Democratic Party (PDP), Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), Action Congress of Nigeria (CAN), All Nigeria People Party (ANPP), Labour Party (LP), Progressive People Alliance (PPA), Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Accord Party (AP), Democratic People Party (DPP) and KOWA Party.

The 30 Registered Political Parties of Nigeria from 2014-2016.
Action AllianceAA
Advanced Congress Of DemocratsACD
Allied Congress Party of NigeriaACPN
Alliance For DemocracyAD
African Democratic CongressADC
African Peoples AllianceAPA
All Progressive CongressAPC
All Progressives Grand AllianceAPGA
Citizens Popular PartyCPP
Democratic Peoples CongressDPC
Democratic Peoples PartyDPP
Fresh Democratic PartyFRESH
Hope Democratic PartyHDP
Independent DemocratsID
Kowa PartyKP
Labour PartyLP
Mega Progressive Peoples PartyMPPP
National Conscience PartyNCP
New Nigeria Peoples PartyNNPP
People For Democratic ChangePDC
Peoples Democratic MovementPDM
Peoples Democratic PartyPDP
Progressive Peoples AlliancePPA
Peoples Party of NigeriaPPN
Social Democratic PartySDP
United Democratic PartyUDP
Unity Party of NigeriaUPN
United Progressive PartyUPP
Young Democratic PartyYDP

See Other Varieties